India win first Test against Australia, lead in series

With the support of spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, India took the lead in the series with an innings and 132-run victory in the first Test against Australia. The Australian team is on a tour of India for a series of four Tests.

Australia, who started the second innings trailing by 223 runs in Nagpur, were bundled out for 91 runs and India won the innings. India won on the third day. Australia, who won the toss and batted first, scored 177 runs in the first innings. After spinners Ravindra Jadeja took 5 wickets and Ravichandran Ashwin took 3 wickets, Australia was included in a weak total. For him, Marnus Labuschagne scored 49, Steve Smith scored 36, Peter Handscomb scored 31 and Alex Carey scored 36.

With captain Rohit Sharma’s century performance, India scored 400 runs in the first innings and took a lead of 223 runs. Rohit, who scored his eighth century in Test cricket, contributed 120 runs. In the middle order, Ravindra Jadeja scored 70 runs and Aksar Patel scored 84 runs. Australian off-spinner Todd Murphy took 7 wickets in bowling. Pat Cummins took 2 wickets and Nathan Lyon took 1 wicket. India’s Ravichandran Ashwin took 5 wickets to limit Australia to 91 runs in the second innings. Mohammad Sami and Ravindra Jadeja took 2 each and Aksar Patel took 1 wicket. Australia’s Smith scored the most unbeaten 25 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *